Je ne regrette rien

I am Thrifty and Cheap and I like it.

Posted in Uncategorized by Amy on March 15, 2009

I am cheap. I was raised in a family where you didn’t buy something unless you needed it, there was no such thing as spending  money on fast food, and if you are too lazy to cook it – you don’t deserve to eat it.

Today I went to Dollar Tree and picked up groceries. This is something that I just started doing and it has saved our family so much money each month on groceries that it is absolutely amazing. I purchased everything from a few Hot Pockets for my husband when he gets home from work at 2:oo am to chicken broth. I was able to get a  bag of frozen fries for $1.00  Tortillas, lunch meat, lunchables, orange juice, pretzels, animal crackers, instant potatos. $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00  This is good food, not expired, not flavorless (though if it was they have a whole colony of spices and herbs there, too, and not just plain ole generic knock offs.

They have Campbell’s tomato soup there for $1.00. The bonus? They are the 45% more  cans, which makes things like making chili even cheaper. Additionally, one can of soup only need to be used at lunch time instead of two. And I can use the soup as a base in Bacon Cheeseburger hotdish. Oh, and the have the Sargento cheese that I use for the topping of said hotdish there, too. For $1.00

The only thing that I need to get from the grocery store is ground beef, chicken, yeast (to make bread), milk, and eggs. If I had my way, I would have my own chickens so I could use their eggs and so I could butcher them. (Can you tell that I am completely from the country?)

My husband works very, very hard for our money. It is his job to make it. It is my job to make it stretch as much as possible. I take a lot of pride in it and the fact that my daughter thinks I am the best cook ever brings me a lot of pride, too.

I feel really thankful today, given the state of the economy, that I have the tools to be able to take care of my family in this way.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. workingwords100 said, on March 16, 2009 at 9:31 am

    It’s great that you can stretch the one dollar.

    There must be blogs about people who are thrifty.

    Maybe in your new home,you can have chickens.

    Best of luck in your move.

  2. Lisa said, on March 17, 2009 at 6:38 pm

    NIce job on the shopping. I spend waaaay too much on groceries. Living with three boys, er…men….and feeding them is not easy. We go through about a gallon of milk a day!


Leave a Reply

