Je ne regrette rien

Retreat!

Posted in 100 Things, Book Babble, Crime, life, Mental Health, new orleans by Amy on February 6, 2009

Last Sunday I was mugged in what I considered one of the safest places to be in this city. It has left me paranoid, hopeless, angry,  pissed off, and determined to not let some jerk-off run me out of this city. Many will say this is foolish of me, this determination to stay and fight, but they just don’t get it. This isn’t just a place to live. This isn’t just a city. This is New Orleans, dammit, and that MEANS something – regardless of how foolish our mayor behaves or what work is still left to do. It’s like a greek organization – from the outside looking in, you can’t understand it. From the inside looking out, you can’t explain it.

So, instead of going to the book club on Sunday like I intended (Sorry Elizabeth!) I ended up sitting in my home, on the couch, near fetal position, jumping at every noise, waiting for my husband to get home. I spent a lot of Monday like that too.  And Tuesday. Yesterday morning I picked myself and wrote a proposal for my daughter’s school, hoping to set up a Parent Association, which will hopefully turn into a PTO at some point. I set up a few shows to cover. Scheduled a couple of interviews. Did some writing. Tried to make things as normal as they could.

I am taking it easy for the rest of the week. I am starting to get a case of the respiratory virus going around and for me, that’s not good. So, I shall stay inside my bat cave and read. This is my happy place. It would be a happier place with a Snuggie, but alas, no Snuggie yet. Though I did get told my a friend of a friend that they are itchy and like cheap felt, not fleece. Am tempted to go to Wal-Greens and feel for myself.

Nothing really interested or entertaining going on, except trying to make it through what happened on Sunday.

And listening to music. Eyehatgod, Black Flag, The Smithereens, The Misfits, and The Ramones.

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Isabel said, on February 6, 2009 at 3:34 am

    Keep taking care of yourself! You are doing the right thing.

    Enjoy your books!

    • Amy said, on February 6, 2009 at 5:15 am

      I am in a non-fiction mode right now. I just finished Dirty: A Search for Answers Inside America’s Teen Drug Epidemic by Meredith Maran. I want to find her book Class Dismissed, or something like that, and read that too. Now I am onto Women Who Run With the Wolves by Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Ph.D — have not read this book but was told I should. After these two, I am going to read When Rabbits Howl about Truddie Chase. (Research for writing) and then do a whole reading cycle of Updike, because it seems like I should 🙂

  2. liprap said, on February 6, 2009 at 5:06 am

    A Snuggie? Oh, honey, we’ve got to get that idea outta your head, really we do.

    Glad to hear you’re picking back up, though.

    • Amy said, on February 6, 2009 at 5:12 am

      Seriously, I am freezing ALL of the time. Except in August. 🙂 A snuggie seems like the perfect solution 🙂


Leave a Reply

