Je ne regrette rien

Good News in New Orleans

Posted in 100 Things, Crime, French Quarter, life, new orleans, Uptown, Writing by Amy on January 29, 2009

As I head over to NOLA.com, the following headines are the first thing I see:

Gulf Port Mayorfaces Katrina fraud Charges

St. Charles Parish Councilman in ethics bind over his day job

DA wants to try 14 year old as adult in French Quarter murder of Wendy Byrne

Letter offers clues to suicide death of family in Los Angeles; both parents had lost jobs

In a city like New Orleans, it is easy to feel despair. Despair is often felt by those without hope. With the crime rate, the education system, and the elected officials in office, it is easy to feel like right now, our city has no hope.

It made me think, though, doesn’t all this negativity just feed into more negativity? Doesn’t this despair just feed into more despair? Don’t we then begin to ride a carousel of self-loathing, pity, sadness, depression, and defeat? I know I have experienced it. I experienced it earlier this week when I questions whether or not I should continue to call New Orleans home, or if I should move and start life over again in a small community, a safe community, sacrificing what it is that drew me from Wisconsin to Louisiana in the first place.

It took  simple comment from another good hearted New Orleanian to change my way of thinking. That comment was followed by many more. Those comments were followed my e-mails and a real feeling of community, seeing what good there is in this city, seeing what good can be done. It took a gesture, a card from a classroom of third graders, to melt away the bitterness that was starting to encase my heart.

New Orleans does have crime. It does have undesirables. It also has ineffective leaders. Do you know what else New Orleans has? It has heart. It has a city full of survivors. It has kindess. It has potential.

We all read enough bad things about New Orleans. It IS important to acknowledge them. It IS important to organize and change the city. It is also important to remember the beauty and the kindness that exists here.

I think that I am going to start a blog about the Good News in this city, not just the bad. A blog where the human spirit that encompasses what New Orleans really is can be revealed, appreciated, and acknowledged.

We may be the city that care forgot, but we are NOT the city that forgot to care.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. liprap said, on January 29, 2009 at 2:23 am

    ((((((hugs))))))

    And stay away from the nola.com comments. Such a cesspool, those are. UGH.

  2. prissy said, on January 29, 2009 at 6:56 am

    yep, I agree with Lipray,,, stay away from Nola.com

    too much bad news..ilu

  3. taylorteach said, on January 29, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I agree with you. When I was thinking of moving here, I read a lot of online forums and lots of people were so negative I had thought of the same exact blog! I hope you can find lots of good news!


Leave a Reply

