Je ne regrette rien

New Orleans: Out on the Porch

Posted in 100 Things, Book Babble, life, new orleans, Uptown, Writing by Amy on January 26, 2009

porch_1308Today is one of my favorite kind of days in New Orleans.  The street is quiet, except for those walking home from church. My neighbor is in her yard, raking. The sky is overcast and the temperature is cool. And I sit on my porch, with a throw blanket and cup of coffee, breathing it all in. This is the New Orleans I love, the New Orleans were strangers wish you well as they pass by, where you can feel the history and the struggle and the triumph that this city has faced with grace, standing strong and standing tall.

There are about a million things that I should do today.  Not thos fun things that adults are required to do, like laundry and dishes or mopping the floor, but those things can all wait until tomorrow. Today I am going to sit here, out on the porch, and curl up with a book, notebook, and pen, and just enjoy this.

For anyone interested, Blue Cypress Books on Oak St. is going to be having a book club meeting, their first, on February 1, 2009 . The book they are reading is Toni Morrison’s A Mercy. I am pretty dang excited about that! Y’all should take a stop down at Blue Cypress Books if you get a chance. I absolutely LOVE this book store and never leave empty handed. And you can trade books in for store credit, too! They just started a frequent reader program that awards a free book after the book mark is filled. LOVE IT.

I am also considering trying to form a writing group in the Carrolton/Oak St. area. If anyone would be interested please e-mail me at theharpy@live.com

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. prissy said, on January 26, 2009 at 5:58 am

    i dont have a clue as to what website I have or whatever,,, oh well!
    I love this post, I wish i was right there cuddled up in a blanket drinking some cc coffee and watching life pass us by..
    I sure do love you

    • Amy said, on January 26, 2009 at 8:31 pm

      Ah Prissy! Thank you! You really need to move closer! 🙂 I love you, too. Thank you for being such a great friend!

  2. Nola said, on January 27, 2009 at 9:14 am

    Feel better soon! And when you do, we’ll get coffee 🙂

    • Amy said, on January 27, 2009 at 8:29 pm

      I would love to get coffee! Thank you! Everything is starting to dull down and my legs are begining to feel “normal” lol.


Leave a Reply

