Je ne regrette rien

Research: Multiple Personality Disorder

Posted in Uncategorized by Amy on January 24, 2009

Right now my current work-in-progress deals with Multiple Personality Disorder, known now as Dissociative Identity Disorder. I do not know anyone that personally deals with these issues, thus the necessity of researching from a medical and personal point-of-view.

Currently, I am reading a book called First Person Plural, written by Cameron West, Ph. D, about his experiences with this disorder and how it impacted his wife, Rikki, and their young son, Kyle. It is a very interesting book and apparently Mr. West and his wife made an appearance on Oprah, a television clip that I am attempting to track down, with not much success. I decided to do more research on the more well-known cases  – Sybil, Eve, Truddi Chase. I found a really interesting article in reference to Sybil, stating that perhaps all that was written and reported was not true, but manipulation by a therapist. Truddi Chase is harder to find information on, though her Wiki page does state that she does lectures at prisons and other institutions.  The one exception I did find on Truddi Chase, however, is that her stepbrothers and stepsisters did verify the abuse she experienced. I intend on picking up a copy of When Rabbits Howl this evening and making that my weekend reading material.

At google video, I found some really interesting links – one to a documentary show on HBO’s America Undercover series from 1993. Here is the link, if you are interested.

I am amazed to learn what triggers these disorders – sexual abuse, child abuse, mistreatment – and I wonder what it is that causes some to deal with these things in such a way, and others to not. Interesting, at any rate, and heartbreaking at the same time.

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. kay duelfer said, on September 14, 2009 at 1:20 am

    I am in the process of talking with a young woman that has suffered horrible abuse, and at this point, have ‘talked’ with two other personalities. I am hoping her therapist will give me some guidelines on this, as I don’t want to cause any harm to this already battered young woman. Can you offer any help? So far, I have simply replied as though it is perfectly natural to suddenly be speaking with a child, etc., but will greatly appreciate any suggestions.
    Thank you

  2. gilliab lambert said, on November 6, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    cameron impacted my life tremdisley, i have read his book twice and feel for him. i am asurviver of abuse . And am stll healing very much,every day i am 26 and suffer from DID, it is a daly struggle for me. I apprecieat cameron very much ,he is a huge inspiratio!!!!!!!
    gillian 🙂


Leave a Reply

